Alopecia Areata

I thought I wrote a post about this but it turns out I haven’t. I’ll start by saying all the hard work I’ve done to grow my hair out this happens to me. After my documentary was filmed I noticed a round patch of hair missing near the front of my hairline. It’s about the size of a dime.

I thought that’s strange. How did that happen?. I first googled and went to webmd then asked someone wiggy friends I know who have hair loss issues. I finally went to my doctor and he told me I had Alopecia Areata.

If you don’t know what that is it’s this.

Alopecia (al-oh-PEE-shah) means hair loss. When a person has a medical condition called alopecia areata (ar-ee-AH-tah), the hair falls out in round patches. The hair can fall out on the scalp and elsewhere on the body.

Alopecia areata can cause different types of hair loss. Each of these types has a different name:

Alopecia areata (hair loss in patches).
Alopecia totalis (lose all hair on the scalp).
Alopecia universalis (lose all hair on the body).

Of course this is bothersome.

What causes alopecia areata?
Alopecia areata is an autoimmune disease. Autoimmune means that the body’s immune system attacks the body. When alopecia areata develops, the body attacks its own hair follicles. A person’s genetic makeup, combined with other factors, triggers this form of hair loss.

People with alopecia areata may have a higher risk for:

Another autoimmune disease such as thyroid disease or vitiligo (patches of lighter skin appear)
Asthma and allergies, mainly atopic dermatitis (more commonly called eczema) and hay fever (nasal allergies)
Having relatives who have asthma, allergies, or an autoimmune disease such as type 1 diabetes

all info taken from  American Academy of dermatology 

This is probably something I’m totally upset over. It’s like finally I have the hair I’ve always wanted and 💥 BAM!!! I now have this to deal with. My doctor did recommend a Cream that I could use but was told it can thin the skin and it could blister. So I decided not to go with that and just leave it alone.

I did find another spot at my hair-line where it’s smooth as a baby’s butt and that’s not cute. It’s like stop falling out. Why does this have to happen now!!!

It may grow back and it may not. At the moment it’s not to noticeable so that’s a huge plus. I feel if it gets worse I’ll wear one of my wigs.

It just fucking sucks!!!!

Click Me Update

 

7 thoughts on “Alopecia Areata

    1. Thanks. Yea I’m kinda just bleh over it. It’s a huge slap in my face just when I thought I’ve over come Trich, I find out I now have this.

  1. Hi Lana,
    I wanted to tell you that i know a woman’s hair is our prize possession and its traumatic losing it to something uncontrollable but i’m here to tell you there is a way with proper hair treatments and protective styling methods (as you stated wigs) you will in due time grow back even healthier hair. I specialize in making wigs for all especially women with lupus, alopecia, cancer and the list goes on. Please head over to my site and see if you’d be interested in my services. Thank you and stay strong!

    p.s if its not too much to ask i’d truly appreciate it if you could pass it on to friends. Have a blessed day Lana!

  2. I lost all my hair when i was around 18. Every single bit no hair on my body never bothered going to doctors but from my research i think iv got Alopecia universalis but from today iv got lighter eyebrowns now and patchy hair. My eye lashes are abit patchy but it comes and goes. I posted my experience on here if you would like to read. I know how it feels it took me along time to get over it. Regards

  3. Hi Lana,

    I will be posting about some of the treatments I have tried for my alopecia in my blog over the next few days, some have worked! If you have any questions feel free to ask, I’ve only just made the blog today to share my experiences with alopecia and to try and support my fellow alopecians!

    Stay strong and stay positive

    Have a lovely week,

    Charlotte

Please leave a comment

