What I’m Learning As An Artist 👨‍🎤

What I’m learning is that the people you hoped would support you in your craft such as close friends may not fully support you. But my burlesque friends that I wanted to be at the competition to support me were there which I’m super thankful for.

Last night was one of the biggest nights for me. Competing in a competition in front of four judges, two professional photographers and peers in the burlesque community as well in a club I’ve never been in and in front of a new audience. Was pretty huge and not one single person outside of the burlesque scene who I call friends could come and support me did in fact piss me off!.

What I’ve learned is that yes I’ll keep  promoting events that I’m in but I will stop at inviting people to them. If you choose to go cool, will be nice to see you but I refuse to put any more of my energy into inviting these so called friends to them.

I would prefer people just full on tell me they arnt interesting in going to things such as burlesque events. But to say your going to come then back out last minute is sorta a slap in my face.

Bitch rant over.

But as the title says what I am learning as an Artist. By doing this competition it’s made me realize I want to improve my craft. I believe I nailed my performance last night. I am very proud of it and the feed back I got from burlesque peers and friends and  audience members was all positive.

My experince overall last night was amazing. And I’m excited about the future in the burlesque scene. P.S. I’m Stage kittening in the Ottawa Burlesque Festival this weekend. Super excited to see some of my burlesque peers and the International headliners that will be at the festival. If your in town then I suggest you come check it out. You can go to their website here.

Over & Out

Please leave a comment

